U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 04-05-2019, 09:06 AM

172 posts, read 130,961 times

Advertisements

I'm a software engineer. have had this issue for a long time but didnt know what to do about it. In meetings or group discussions where we talk about the requirements/features to be built in the software, my mind usually draws a blank or takes much longer than others to conceptualize the idea, while others are already moving onto topics C I'm still stuck at A.

So I'm usually very silent during group discussions, this makes me look dumb or uninterested but I'm just as good as others while doing my work in front of a computer.

Is there a fix for this? would a career coach help? toastmaster, etc?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-05-2019, 09:19 AM

780 posts, read 204,578 times
Maybe you're thinking too hard on coming up with a perfect solution, and you get tangled up in your own thoughts while everyone else is loose and winging it.

Not sure about a career coach in this situation, but maybe toast masters would be good for you. Extemporaneously expressing your thoughts is your objective, and finding an activity that would allow you to cultivate that skill is what you want.