U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 05-17-2019, 11:54 AM

86 posts, read 33,901 times

Advertisements

I am both an artist and a student of networking (switches and routers), problem is that I have been studying for this career on and off for the past 4 years.

When I first got into it; I thought it would be fun but it is anything but that. I know that this certification was not meant for beginners and with no prior experience it was simply a major struggle for me to wrap my head around it for the first 1-2 years. Only in recent times have I gotten over that mountain everest of learning this complicated field. During the first year I probably should of went for a more "entry" and less complicated networking certification.

Probably I liked it at first but after the huge information dump and looking at a book that was bigger then the bible; it most likely killed my enjoyment. Seeing people study it for a month and passing the test to get it didn't help my motivation either. I believe I felt like I was going WAY slower then someone should be and with no end in sight; I felt like the odd one out.

I read quote one time about this sort of situation "If someone is passionate about what they are doing, they probably will excel in it as opposed to someone that is not.". It started to become obvious to me why these people were excelling in this field, because they have a passion for it and actually love it; where as I am just a dude who is studying it just because.