Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-21-2019, 07:16 PM

15 posts, read 7,980 times

Advertisements

Hello. Sorry for the length of this post. I'm currently 25 years old and have only held part time work experience since I graduated in 2015 and yes I feel like a total complete loser for not having my crap planned out. I still live with my parents who for some reason adore me and am grateful for their unflinching support. I was recently accepted into 3 graduate level programs, and yes as odd as it sounds I have no idea which one to pursue since I never really set in stone what I wanted from a career. One is an engineering masters program through Boston that allows non-engineers to pursue engineering at an MS level. The other is a masters in finance that also caters to non-finance people like myself. Both Boston and this finance program (OSU) have great employment ratings both hover at around 95-96% employment six months out from graduation. And finally, I was also accepted into NSU's college of dental medicine. I realize these programs are all a mile apart in terms of career similarities but here's who I am as a person:

1. Enjoy math (my degree was in the life sciences but I'm comfortable with math up to calc 2 from self learning)
  2. Great problem solver
  3. Eloquent speaker - no problem speaking in front of people (though I would prefer to work behind a desk)
  4. Not squeamish
  5. Paranoid about being laid off or fired (job security in general)