U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-01-2019, 10:22 AM

155 posts, read 304,647 times

Advertisements

Hello all,

I'm a business development manager/inside sales manager for a 70 person division of a large company. I was flabbergasted last week when our marketing manager sent an email to me (and CC'd my boss on it) asking me to help her with writing and putting out the internal weekly employee company newsletter. I have no idea why she'd think I'd be interested in doing it or have any talent at doing it but I wanted to be helpful and be a team player so I replied "I'd be happy to help. Let's discuss soon", thinking that I could help with ideas, maybe submit some articles sometimes, etc...

So on our phone call to discuss it further the very first thing she said was "I'm so happy you agreed to take this over"... and I'm thinking to myself "I said I would help, not take it over!" but as I listened to her and she explained how she does it, where the template is, who to get certain info from.. etc.. I realize that she is asking me to totally do it all. I've never heard of anyone in sales being responsible for an internal employee newsletter. It seems to me like that is totally within the realm of marketing or maybe HR.