U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-05-2019, 11:10 AM

7,394 posts, read 11,566,195 times

Advertisements

I would like to know if this situation sounds familiar to anybody else in corporate/managerial positions. I figure it must, especially for middle managers.

I work as an engineer, but this could apply to any career in a corporate setting.

-You live in fear of answering to mistakes. Even though you are diligent, you know you that mistakes happen because there's so much to keep track of, so many regulations and inputs and data to keep track of, and that you are going to have to answer for them or your suboordinates' mistakes at times in the future.

-You've been cursed out or talked sternly to by clients who are mad at you, not necessarily because you've made a mistake but because your business takes $ from them that they don't want to be spending. And sometimes they're just a@@holes. But even though you feel you've done a good job, and sometimes spent your own time to help a client, they're often pissed if they have to continue to pay you.

-It seems like half of the external emails you send, and half of the conversations you have with clients, lawyers, or superiors have to be well thought out, otherwise you face the wrath of saying the wrong thing. I've literally spent 10 minutes dissecting a 2 sentence email and when I don't receive responses to emails, I wonder if I've said the wrong thing.