U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-18-2019, 07:49 AM

1,402 posts, read 769,765 times

Advertisements

I'm an accountant/cpa.. I've been looking for a new job for a while now. I'm super picky because I don't have a real need to leave my current job, but at the same time I'm kind of looking for the next step up (if that makes sense).... basically, I would only leave for the right opportunity.... everything would really need to be in line with what I want.

Anyway, a recruiter contacted me with a position that sounds really good and checks a lot of my boxes.... but here's the thing, I have a few personal things going on that I feel like are making me doubt whether it's the right time to change jobs... like for example, my brother and his wife just had a baby and they live 5 hours away and I was planning on visiting them to meet the baby in August for a long weekend, so I would need a day off... I also may need to have surgery on my nose for my deviated septum because I can't breathe at night (I could post pone this for a year though)... I was also going to have another medical procedure for something.... another thing is my boyfriend's brother died about a year and a half ago and I'm still dealing with a lot with that with his family and visiting them and whatnot... I also quit drinking caffeine since it was giving me a lot of anxiety issues and that really impacts my work (i can do my current job with my eyes closed, but a new job would obviously require more work).