Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 04-27-2008, 10:09 PM

4,250 posts, read 10,451,037 times

Advertisements

Ok, just wanting to get some feedback here. I "dropped out" of corporate America almost five years ago. I was hoping somehow I would not have to go back to that kind of job and I'm still not sure I can.

So, I am late 40s with the five year hiatus on my resume. I have an MBA and am bilingual, so it's not like I don't have something to offer. I had a couple of great last jobs, but left the state and moved somewhere else to "drop out."

Any thoughts? I am kind of stuck and not quite sure how to go forward, what with the last five years being so "not working." Yes, I did do some volunteer work and still do and, yes, I did have a job at a domestic violence shelter, but these were not long stints. Thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-30-2008, 05:43 PM

9,367 posts, read 25,212,237 times
Definately include your volunteer involvement. When I was a SAHM and then returned to paid employment, I included the volunteer work just like a paid position- you used marketable skills, you have contacts there that will provide references. And I bet if you looked at the board members of some of the nonprofits (if that is where you volunteered), you might find some who are in the same type business as you are looking to join.... you can bet if your resume crossed their desk and they saw where you volunteered, it would catch their eye.