U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Merry Christmas!
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 11-02-2008, 11:48 AM

14 posts, read 26,330 times

Advertisements

I have been laid off for quite a while now. I have a degree in Paralegal studies from a community college and live in Michigan where there are NO Paralegal jobs or any other jobs for that matter. If there are any Paralegals on the board who can recommend places to relocate where I might have a better chance (I understand the recession factors into my problem) but any input would be appreciated. The cities I wanted to look into were Denver, Phoenix and Southern California (where all my employment calls seem to be coming from)....Im worried about the cost of living in Cali etc. Thanks for any input.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-02-2008, 03:26 PM

2,541 posts, read 7,842,621 times
Where ever there is a large amount of businesses, and people

I hear Mich is hurting economically so maybe go to Chicago, or Ohio (columbus, Cleveland)

I hear they still have a relatively strong economy in the Midwest

Old 11-02-2008, 06:37 PM

6,586 posts, read 16,639,034 times
I'm a paralegal, but I don't know how the job market is. My recruiter emails seem to be mostly for legal secretary jobs right now - if there are any at all. Word on the street is some big firms are about to lay off in some sections - banking, real estate, for example.

Old 11-03-2008, 12:12 AM

3,844 posts, read 8,363,676 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJ Chutzpah View Post