U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-08-2009, 06:57 PM

49 posts, read 29,163 times

Advertisements

I am 32 years old and I am a cable tech for a major telecommunications company. During the past 3 years I have become completely unhappy with my job and direction of my so called"career". I am debating on whether I should go back to school and what degree should I pursue. I have an assoiciate degree in computer networking, I am thinking about a pursuing a degree in computer engineering. However I'm also intersted in real estate and someday starting a business which has me thinking about a finance major also. With my associate degree I'm praying that I have enough credits to finish my bachelors within 2 years. Can u give me some real advice??? I know education is always good......but I am confused about what area to pursue.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-08-2009, 08:29 PM

551 posts, read 758,177 times
I don't know if you will be able to finish your bachelor's in 2 years since the curriculum for Computer Engineering is a lot different than computer networking at a traditional university (Both are usually in different departments/colleges). I don't know if you took any of the prerequisite courses for engineering such as the math classes (at least 6 courses from what I remember), physics classes (3-4 classes), and general education requirement courses (Liberal studies, english, etc.).