U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-24-2009, 02:38 PM

454 posts, read 742,359 times
Default Old Boss ignoring me......don't know why! :-(

I left my previous place of employment (large company, small group) as an Engineer about 4 months ago. i had been working there for 5-6 years and that was my first job out of college. I had a good relationship with my boss (15 years older than myself). when i left the company, i left because i felt like i wasn't growing as much as i wanted to, and plus, i got a 30% raise at the new place. it was a bitter sweet move. i knew i was going to miss everyone there and i let them know it.

when i left, i emailed everyone after a week or so to tell them my new email address, etc. they all (including my boss) replied back and wished me well etc.

i really want to keep in touch with my boss because i look up to him alot. he's very smart and i don't want to lose touch with him. i emailed him a few weeks ago (2nd email since i've left) and he never replied. i had also emailed a few other people and they all replied back and were nice.
i emailed him again yesterday and just said "hi joe, how are you?" but never heard back.
i don't want anything from him, i don't want to ask for any favors. i just want to be nice. honestly, i miss him.

i know there could be a million reasons for him not responding (vacation, busy, etc. etc) but am i asking for too much? are relationships over once one leaves a job?

thoughts?