U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 11-28-2009, 06:12 PM

552 posts, read 867,023 times

Advertisements

That's correct, it is possible.

(This topic assumes you understand that it is impossible to get a job relevant to my degree (finance)).

Unless I lie on the application and my resume, I get rejected by employers (such as Target, Coca Cola and Pepsi bottling) for jobs that I have 4 years experience in (warehouse).

I am literally going to have to lie in order to get a job, it seems.

I thought I would be able to fall back on my warehouse experience, but that is anything but the case.

I wonder if fast food joints will reject me too? Manual labor?

This is the ultimate reality check, and I take full blame for my situation.

Quick reply to this message

Old 11-28-2009, 06:30 PM

4,791 posts, read 12,832,924 times
Worst job - bike messenger - they don't care if you have a college degree. You just gotta deliver stuff in complete days of rain or cold weather.

Pizza Delivery or car messenger might work for you too!

Did you just graduate with a finance degree? Why not work as a bank teller to start you in a bank and then move up?

Old 11-28-2009, 06:38 PM

3,071 posts, read 7,389,929 times