U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > World Forums > World
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 04-15-2014, 08:33 PM

613 posts, read 844,470 times

Advertisements

Islam is the fastest growing faith worldwide and while Christianity is not necessarily growing so much in the west (North America and Europe), Africa is becoming more and more either Christianized or Islamic, from missionaries. Traditional African folk religions are on the decline there.

In Asia (where technically in the western part of which they originated), it also seems like the Abrahamic faiths spread too, from either Islamic conquest or conversion by trade and contact (India was ruled by Muslims once which explains the presence in the subcontinent and the Indonesian/Malaysia region was converted from Hindu-Buddhist to Muslim), or Christian missionaries such as Roman Catholics in the Philippines or Evangelical Protestants in Korea. Historically, either Dharmic or folk religions were more common in the eastern half of Asia. Some people say that China might become more Christian in the future and more people find their calling in religion after communism suppressed it.

It seems like the polytheistic, traditional folk type of religions on most continents are becoming less common compared to the monotheistic faiths (just like what happened with Europe during its period of Christianizing from late Antiquity to the Middle Ages, where paganism declined).
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-15-2014, 08:54 PM

9,783 posts, read 15,328,540 times