U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Writing
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 04-21-2019, 11:15 AM

973 posts, read 1,039,482 times

Advertisements

I'm currently in the copywriting field, which pays well but isn't as writing- and research-heavy as I'd like.

Which areas in writing are heavily writing- and research-driven?

I've looked into it and it seems proposal writing may be a good fit. There's also medical writing, but I probably couldn't break into it without a medical background. (I studied marketing.)

Any others that you recommend checking out?

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-21-2019, 11:51 AM

849 posts, read 469,255 times
The legal profession requires researchers, who often write the documents, too.

The US Intelligence Community requires researchers who then analyze the research, then write the report.

The law enforcement community requires researchers who then analyze the research, then write the report.

All three require training above and beyond your present apparent training.

And that's only three fields. There are many, many more out there. Just do the research.

Old 04-21-2019, 12:01 PM

14,467 posts, read 17,337,778 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arkay66 View Post
The legal profession requires researchers, who often write the documents, too.
+1
After I retired from the field of education, I went back to college for certification as a Paralegal, and in that new career area I enjoyed the research that preceded the writing of most Court Complaints, as well as the extensive writing that was involved in drafting those Complaints.