U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Wyoming
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 04-07-2012, 11:56 AM

7 posts, read 8,408 times

Advertisements

Hello,

My 9 yr old son has a newfound obsession he and I discovered this winter. Skiing. I am considering a move to the Jackson area so we can be in the mecca of winter sports in order to continue on this. I work in the construction industry and the company I work for has a sister company in Jackson that I can put in a request to transfer to.

I know Jackson is extremely expensive to live in but it appears to me that just across the border in Idaho, real estate is a little more realistic and mapquest shows the commute to be 25 or so miles. So my question is this: I assume the 25 miles is over a mountain pass and was wondering how well maintained is the road in the winter and what is the commute like? Is it frequently closed during storms?

I've lived in Northern Wyoming all of my adult life so I'm accustomed to winter driving conditions, was just wondering if that pass is going to be a major hindrance and out of the question to live in Idaho and work in Jackson.

Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-07-2012, 08:26 PM

2,040 posts, read 2,147,321 times
the skiing is just as good on the Idaho side but it still in Wyoming. the pass it a good climb, the hiway department dose a good job plowing , it will get shut down during avalange control , speedlimits along the way are 45 to 30 and sometimes of the year alot of traffic so not a really quick commute.