Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Wyoming
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-23-2010, 08:56 PM

3 posts, read 5,480 times

Advertisements

Hello everyone,

I posted a similar message over at the Idaho forum regarding a possible move. I am a prospective law student who has applied to a number of schools, the University of Wyoming among them. I am for the most part applying to out-of-state schools in areas I could envision myself living, and was hoping I could get some insight from the natives about life in the state.

FWIW, I consider myself politically very conservative (more so Libertarian, really), which of course tends to be an issue living in the ultra-liberal northeast. I'm fed up with the high taxes, overcrowding and overbearing regulatory atmosphere here, so I was hoping to find a place where my views would be welcome, if not commonplace.

With that said, I've never been to Wyoming, but I have heard it is a very "red" state. My primary concern is of course securing a quality education, but I'm also concerned with fitting in - being from urban NJ, I've never experienced life in an overall rural area (although I'm not sure if Laramie qualifies as such), but I'm certainly willing to embrace the change. I understand outdoor activities are very popular in your state; I enjoy camping and target shooting, but that's about the extent of it. Nevertheless, does the adjustment to life in your state from an urban lifestyle represent something truly monumental, or have you all found it for the most part easy?