U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > South Carolina > York and Lancaster Counties
 [Register]
York and Lancaster Counties Rock Hill - Fort Mill - York - Tega Cay - Lancaster
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
 
 
Old 10-28-2011, 04:58 PM
 
5,279 posts, read 5,708,331 times
Reputation: 1793

Advertisements

I had to drive to their office to get an answer.
I got up at 8am and no internet, and after 9:30 still nothing.
Cable TV was fine.
I got to speak to someone by phone, once I got to their office.
A server that controlled the whole county was down and out.

I'd think they would have a back-up.
Or a brand new one, still in the box, that they could put into service.

My computer is part of my income, and I lost over $200 due to the outage.

CS said it was only the City of York. That was wrong.

I am the type person that would like to hear them
(or anyone, not specific to Comporium)
say "they do not know" rather than give me a wrong answer.
If you do not know the answer, don't make one up to get rid of me.
Quick reply to this message

 
Old 10-28-2011, 11:29 PM
 
387 posts, read 518,203 times
Reputation: 261
Curious. I didn't have any internet issues.
Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-28-2011, 11:37 PM
 
9,230 posts, read 5,207,486 times
Reputation: 6803
I was up early and didn't have any problems either. I read the Herald online and checked my email early as we had carpet cleaners due.
Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-29-2011, 07:43 AM
 
Location: Fort Mill, SC
138 posts, read 142,106 times
Reputation: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by howard555 View Post
I had to drive to their office to get an answer.
I got up at 8am and no internet, and after 9:30 still nothing.
Cable TV was fine.
I got to speak to someone by phone, once I got to their office.
A server that controlled the whole county was down and out.

I'd think they would have a back-up.
Or a brand new one, still in the box, that they could put into service.

My computer is part of my income, and I lost over $200 due to the outage.

CS said it was only the City of York. That was wrong.

I am the type person that would like to hear them
(or anyone, not specific to Comporium)
say "they do not know" rather than give me a wrong answer.
If you do not know the answer, don't make one up to get rid of me.
Strange, I live in York County and had no issues with my Comporium internet at all yesterday.

Unfortunately, it isn't as easy at taking a server "out of the box" and putting it to use.

If you income depends on having internet service, have you thought of tethering your phone so that you can use it as a backup?
Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-29-2011, 02:15 PM
 
5,279 posts, read 5,708,331 times
Reputation: 1793
there is a chance my memory is off and it was Wednesday morning.

I was told it was County wide....York County.......a main server that served the whole county.
That is what they told me, after being without service from at least 8am to 9:50am. Maybe longer, as they did not say when the outage started.
Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-29-2011, 05:22 PM
 
Location: Lancaster, SC
245 posts, read 694,852 times
Reputation: 57
Lancaster County was out too. I called and they said it was a widespread outage.
Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-30-2011, 04:04 PM
 
29 posts, read 27,444 times
Reputation: 33
Default You should have a backup connection

No outage for DSL customers I know. And no outage here in my FTTH (fiber) neighborhood. So it must have been related to cable modem customers only.

If your home business, or any business for that matter, relies on the internet, you should have a backup. Either another wired connection or a wireless one. Preferably one of each if possible (for 3 total connections). Not having one is your own fault.

Losing $200 in a day implies that your home job nets over $1000/week. Thus you can afford to have a backup. I work from home and I have a wireless backup for my fiber. So go complain somewhere else about your lack of planning or cheapskatedom.

- DP
Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-31-2011, 03:55 PM
 
161 posts, read 305,825 times
Reputation: 92
My internet in Lancaster County (IL) certainly wasn't out. Just excellent service as usual.
Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-20-2011, 07:54 PM
 
Location: Rock Hill
137 posts, read 199,838 times
Reputation: 50
I agree with dpanyion. Everything stops working at sometime. We all have to plan for those "emergencies." They probably were upgrading some equipment to provide everyone with better service for the future. Or, it could have been the "old squirrel or snake in the transformer" incident.

Comporium probably has a generic answer for outages, like most companies do.
Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-22-2011, 12:04 PM
 
5,279 posts, read 5,708,331 times
Reputation: 1793
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovemyroses View Post
I agree with dpanyion. Everything stops working at sometime. We all have to plan for those "emergencies." They probably were upgrading some equipment to provide everyone with better service for the future. Or, it could have been the "old squirrel or snake in the transformer" incident.

Comporium probably has a generic answer for outages, like most companies do.
I manage my own retirement account.
My internet went out around 1:45pm the 18th.
I waited and waited and finally at 3:20 I left for the library to do what I needed to do.
I had to access my account with people beside me, and behind me.
I could not use my software program, and had to use the firm's website.
It was almost impossible to do it that way.
I lost about $6000 on Friday due to the outage.
They never came to my house, and only around 5:15 did they finally get it up and running and they said "my modem" was the problem.
Well, my modem is in my house.
It was obviously on their end and it cost me dearly.
Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


 
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:


Over $84,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > South Carolina > York and Lancaster Counties
Similar Threads

All times are GMT -6.

2005-2014, Advameg, Inc.

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25 - Top