Follow founder on our
Forum or


Location, size, and extent

Located in the northwestern US, Montana is the largest of the 8 Rocky Mountain states and ranks 4th in size among the 50 states.

The total area of Montana is 147,046 sq mi (380,849 sq km), of which land takes up 145,388 sq mi (376,555 sq km) and inland water 1,658 sq mi (4,294 sq km). The state's maximum E-W extension is 570 mi (917 km); its extreme N-S distance is 315 mi (507 km).

Montana is bordered on the N by the Canadian provinces of British Columbia, Alberta, and Saskatchewan; on the E by North Dakota and South Dakota; on the S by Wyoming and Idaho; and on the W by Idaho. The total boundary length of Montana is 1,947 mi (3,133 km). The state's geographic center is in Fergus County, 12 mi (19 km) W of Lewistown. Nearly 30% of the state's land belongs to the federal government.