Dayton: Education and Research

Elementary and Secondary Schools

The Dayton City Schools system, the sixth largest district in the state of Ohio, is administered by a seven-member, non-partisan board of education that appoints a superintendent. The system supports magnet schools, a Partners in Education program, and a Challenger Learning Center. The aerospace industry supports a District Space Symposium.

The following is a summary of data regarding the Dayton public schools as of the 2001–2002 school year.

Total enrollment: 19,813

Number of facilities elementary schools: 25

junior high schools: 4

senior high schools: 6

Student/teacher ratio: 13.6:1

Teacher salaries average: $39,912 (1999-2000)

Funding per pupil: $10,123

Catholic, Jewish, Baptist, Seventh Day Adventist, Church of God, and nondenominational groups also operate schools in the region.

Colleges and Universities

A wide range of higher learning resources are available within driving distance of Dayton. Located in the area are 26 colleges and universities, and 10 vocational and technical schools that offer curricula for traditional as well as nontraditional students. The largest state-funded institution is Wright State University, with an enrollment of more than 16,000 students in 100 undergraduate and 50 Ph.D., graduate, and professional degree programs; Wright State operates schools of law, medicine, pharmacy, and nursing.

The University of Dayton, founded in 1850, is the state's largest independent university and grants associate, baccalaureate, master's, and doctorate degrees in 120 fields of study. The university operates professional schools in education, business administration, engineering, and law. The United Theological Seminary, affiliated with the United Methodist Church, offers graduate programs in theology. Based near Dayton in Yellow Springs is Antioch University; founded by Horace Mann in 1852, Antioch has long been respected for its innovative role in alternative and cooperative education. Central State University, in neighboring Wilberforce, is Ohio's only public university with a traditionally African American student enrollment.

Sinclair Community College, located in downtown Dayton, awards two-year associate degrees in such areas as allied health, business, engineering technologies, and fine and applied arts. With an enrollment of 24,000 students, Sinclair is one of the largest community colleges in the nation. The school is known for its robotics program, operated in association with General Motors Fanacu. The Air Force Institute of Technology (AFIT) at Wright-Patterson Air Force Base is operated by the Air Force for military personnel. Designed primarily as a graduate school, AFIT also offers upper-level baccalaureate study as well as continuing education for civilians. Included among AFIT graduates are 25 U.S. astronauts.

Libraries and Research Centers

Dayton is home to approximately 30 libraries operated by a variety of institutions, businesses, and organizations. The Dayton and Montgomery County Library is the largest facility in the Miami Valley. Containing about 1.7 million books, more than 1,100 periodicals, and compact discs, microfiche, audio- and videotapes, and films, the library operates a main library and 21 branches; special collections include local history and federal and state documents. All of the colleges and universities in the area maintain substantial campus libraries with holdings in a wide range of fields. Most specialized libraries are affiliated with hospitals, law firms, major corporations, and government agencies.

Dayton's higher education community is involved in technological research of national scope. The University of Dayton Research Institute works in association with Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, the foremost aeronautical research and development center in the Air Force; about 10,000 scientists and engineers are employed at the base. Human-computer interaction is studied at the university's Information System Laboratory. The engineering department at Central State University conducts projects for the National Aeronautics and Space Administration and for high-technology firms. Wright State University School of Medicine's Cox Heart Institute has received recognition for the development of diagnostic and surgical treatment of heart disease. Also located in Dayton is the Hipple Cancer Research Center, one of several independent cancer research facilities in the country.

Public Library Information: Dayton and Montgomery County Public Library, 215 East Third Street, Dayton, OH 45402-2103; telephone (937)227-9500; fax (937)227-9524