Indianapolis: Municipal Government

Indianapolis and Marion County operate as a consolidated governmental functions to form Unigov, with jurisdiction including all of Marion County except the town of Speed-way and the cities of Beech Grove, Lawrence, and South-port. The mayor, who serves a four-year term, holds executive powers; the 29 members of City-County Council are elected to four-year terms by district and at large. A six-department city government administers Unigov programs.

Head Official: Mayor Bart Peterson (D) (since 2000; current term expires December 2007)

Total Number of City-County Employees: 3,800 (2005)

City Information: City of Indianapolis/Marion County, 200 East Washington Street, City-County Building, Indianapolis, IN 46204; telephone (317)327-3601