Madison: Municipal Government

The city of Madison operates under a mayor-alderperson form of government; 20 alders, representing 20 city districts, are chosen for a two-year term in a nonpartisan election. The mayor, who is not a member of council, is chosen for a four-year term in a non-partisan election.

Head Official: Mayor Dave Cieslewicz (since 2003; current term expires 2007)

Total Number of City Employees: 2,741 (2005)

City Information: City Hall, 210 Martin Luther King Jr. Boulevard, Madison, WI 53710; telephone (608)266-4611