Peoria: Municipal Government

The city of Peoria operates under a council-manager form of government. One council member is elected from each of five districts and five members are elected at large. The mayor is the official head of the city; he heads the council and is elected by the total electorate.

Head Official: Mayor David P. Ransburg (since 2001)

Total Number of City Employees: 860 (2005)

City Information: City of Peoria, 419 Fulton, Peoria, IL 61602; telephone (309)494-8524