Portland: Municipal Government

Portland, the seat of Cumberland County, operates under a council-manager form of government. The city manager is the chief executive officer, appointed by the council for an unspecified term. A nine-member council constitutes the legislative body. Five council members are selected from the five voting districts and four are elected on an at-large basis to serve staggered three-year terms. The mayor, who presides over council meetings, is selected by the council to serve a one-year term. Portland is known for its highly trained police and fire personnel.

Head Official: City Manager Joseph Gray, Jr. (since 2001; length of term unspecified)

Total Number of City Employees: 1,371 (2002)

City Information: City Hall, 389 Congress Street, Portland, ME 04101; telephone (207)879-0300