Stamford: Municipal Government

Stamford, located in Fairfield County, operates with a mayor and 40-member board of representatives system; each member is to serve a term of four years. The 40 representatives include two from each of twenty districts within the city.

Head Official: Mayor Dannel P. Malloy (D) (since 1995; current term expires 2005)

Total Number of City Employees: 2,980 (2005)

City Information: Mayor's Office, City of Stamford, 888 Washington Boulevard, Stamford, CT 06904-2152; telephone (203)977-4150; fax (203)977-5845