Follow founder on our
Forum or

Syracuse: Municipal Government

Syracuse, the county seat of Onondaga County, is governed by a mayor elected for a four-year term, and an independent policy-making nine-member council, headed by a president. District councilors and councilors-at-large are elected for two-year and four-year terms respectively. The mayor has broad administrative powers, including the appointment of all city department heads.

Head Official: Mayor Matthew J. Driscoll (D) (since 2001; current term expires 2008)

Total Number of City Employees: 1,800 (2005)

City Information: Office of the Mayor, 203 City Hall, Syracuse, NY 13202-1473; telephone (315)448-8005; fax (315)448-8067