Dallas: Municipal Government

Dallas is the third largest city in the country with the council-manager form of government. Citizens adopted this form of municipal government in 1931. The system divides responsibility between a policy-making council and the administration of a city manager. The Dallas City Council is comprised of 15 members elected by voters in non-partisan elections. Fourteen are elected from single-member districts, while the mayor is elected at-large.

Head Official: Mayor Laura Miller (since 2002; current term expires 2006)

Total Number of City Employees: 17,640 (2004)

City Information: Dallas City Hall, 1500 Marilla, Dallas, TX 75201; telephone (214)670-3302