San Antonio: Municipal Government

San Antonio, the Bexar County seat, is administered by a council-manager form of city government. City council members are elected from 10 districts and the mayor is elected at-large. The mayor and city council appoint the city manager.

Head Officials: Mayor Ed Garza (D) (since 2001; current term expires 2005); City Manager J. Rolando Bono

Total Number of City Employees: more than 12,000 (2004)

City Information: City of San Antonio, PO Box 839966, San Antonio, TX 78283; telephone (210)207-7060; fax (210)207-4077