Tulsa: Municipal Government

Incorporated as a municipality on January 18, 1898, Tulsa operates under a mayor-council form of city government. Nine council members are elected to two-year terms.

Head Official: Mayor Bill LaFortune (since 2002; current term expires 2006)

Total Number of City Employees: 3,862 (2005)

City Information: City of Tulsa, 200 Civic Center, Tulsa, OK 74103; telephone (918)596-7777