Denver: Municipal Government

The city and county of Denver share the same boundaries and operate under a government that performs both municipal and county functions. Denver's mayor council form of government invests its mayor, who is elected to a four-year term, with strong executive powers. The 13 council members also serve for 4 years.

Head Official: Mayor John W. Hickenlooper (D) (since 2003; current term expires 2007)

Total Number of City Employees: 12,485 (2005)

City Information: City of Denver, 945 S. Huron St., Denver, CO 80223; telephone (303)698-4900