Hilo: Municipal Government

The Island of Hawaii has one governmental unit, the County of Hawaii. There is no formal government at the city or municipal level, although Hilo serves as the headquarters for all government activities on the Island. The city is governed by the county of Hawaii, which has a mayor elected for up to two four-year terms and a nine-member council representing each of the county's nine districts during two-year terms. Mayor Harry Kim, first elected to office in 2000, is the first mayor of Korean descent in the United States.

Head Official: Mayor Harry Kim, County of Hawaii (since 2000; current term expires 2008)

Total Number of County Employees: 2,300 (2003)

County Information: Hawaii County, 25 Aupuni Street, Hilo, HI 96720; telephone (808)961-8521