Juneau: Municipal Government

Juneau, a home-rule municipality, has a council-manager type of government formed via elections held every three years. In 1970 the city merged with the city of Douglas and other areas of the Juneau Borough to become the city and borough of Juneau. The Borough Assembly is comprised of the mayor and eight assembly members.

Head Official: Mayor Bruce Botelho (NP) (since 2003; current term expires 2006)

Total Number of City Employees: 1,536 (2004)

City Information: City and Borough of Juneau, 155 S. Seward St., Juneau, AK 99801; telephone (907)586-3300