San Jose: Municipal Government

San Jose operates under a council-manager form of government. The eleven council members include the mayor; all serve four-year terms. The city manager is appointed by the mayor and the council to an open-ended term. San Jose is the seat of Santa Clara County.

Head Official: City Manager Del Borgsdorf (since 1999)

Total Number of City Employees: 6,300 (2004)

City Information: Information Center, City Hall, 801 North First Street, San Jose, CA 95110; telephone (408)277-5800