Santa Ana: Municipal Government

In accordance with a charter adopted in 1952, Santa Ana operates under a council-manager form of government. The city is governed by a council consisting of six council members and an elected mayor. Council members are nominated from wards but are elected by voters from the entire city. Council members are elected to four-year terms and the mayor is elected every two years.

Head Official: Mayor Miguel A. Pulido (since 1986; current term expires November 2006)

Total Number of City Employees: 1,961 (2005)

City Information: City Hall, 20 Civic Center Plaza, Santa Ana, CA 92702; telephone (714)647-5400