Seattle: Municipal Government

Seattle operates under a mayor-council form of government. The mayor is elected to a four-year term; the nine council members, elected at large, serve staggered four-year terms. Seattle is the seat of King County.

Head Official: Mayor Greg Nickels (D) (since 2001; current term expires December 31, 2005)

Total Number of City Employees: 3,220 (2003)

City Information: City Hall, 600 4th Avenue Floor 1, PO Box 94726, Seattle, WA 98124; telephone (206)684-2489