Tacoma: Municipal Government

Tacoma's council-manager form of government provides for the election of nine city council members—a mayor, five members serving districts, and three at-large members. All serve four-year terms. The council hires a city manager.

Head Official: City Manager James L. Walton (since 2003)

Total Number of City Employees: 3505 (2005)

City Information: City Hall, 747 Market Street, Tacoma, WA 98402; telephone (253)591-5000