U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > Administration Zone > About the Forum
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
 
Old 02-19-2013, 08:56 AM
 
6,441 posts, read 4,866,797 times
Reputation: 13563

Advertisements

My desktop computer with XP has somehow gobbled up something that gives me the response below and it's happening only with city-data. I click to open CD and after 2-3 minutes, I get this response. I click the User Name box and same thing ... jam, clock and wait and the same with scrolling or opening a thread.

I stopped using McAfee last year because it causes lots of slowness and now using Malwarebytes and MSE. Those two are not finding anything. I've been browsing for software to fix script problems. FixBee is a freebie but that didn't help. All of the MS freebies find a lot of stuff but then want me to register to actually get the freebie. It jams when I click to register so went to MS chat and MS chat wanted my real name, my address and my phone number so didn't do that.

If anyone has suggestions to get rid of this aggravating issue, it is appreciated. I'm currently working on my Mac laptop.

Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 02-19-2013, 10:43 AM
 
Location: Powell, Oh
1,846 posts, read 4,449,619 times
Reputation: 1074
I see that you had the issue using Internet Explorer. Have you tried Firefox on your PC? On your mac, no issue, right? What are you using on your mac, safari?
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-19-2013, 10:49 AM
 
11,715 posts, read 38,188,589 times
Reputation: 7552
What version of Internet Explorer are you running and how old is your PC?
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-19-2013, 12:07 PM
 
20,890 posts, read 62,565,115 times
Reputation: 40276
I use Firefox with the "no-script" add-on and avoid all such nonsense. I remember having to change from Mozilla to Opera to get decent response from the web, then Opera to IE, then IE to Firefox. I also remember when a 300 baud modem was sufficient... Sometimes you just have to upgrade and update.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-19-2013, 12:08 PM
 
6,441 posts, read 4,866,797 times
Reputation: 13563
Quote:
Originally Posted by brianjb View Post
I see that you had the issue using Internet Explorer. Have you tried Firefox on your PC? On your mac, no issue, right? What are you using on your mac, safari?
Quote:
Originally Posted by EscapeCalifornia View Post
What version of Internet Explorer are you running and how old is your PC?
No script issues with the Mac and I use Firefox or Safari.

I've always used Firefox on the desktop so I considered that, loaded the most recent version of IE and dumped Firefox but still have the same problem. I bought the desktop refurbished and have been using it for two years.

This aggravating script thing with CD seemed to start when I tried to update PDF. That effort was apparently from a bad site since it suddenly switched my home site without asking and ads began flashing in on those separate screens. So I went to add-ons and dumped everything to do with PDF. It's odd that so far it doesn't happen with anything but city-data.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-19-2013, 12:33 PM
 
11,715 posts, read 38,188,589 times
Reputation: 7552
What antivirus/security software is installed? Do you have more than one?
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-19-2013, 03:05 PM
 
6,441 posts, read 4,866,797 times
Reputation: 13563
Quote:
Originally Posted by EscapeCalifornia View Post
What antivirus/security software is installed? Do you have more than one?
I have Malwarebytes, MSE and AVG.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-19-2013, 03:22 PM
 
11,715 posts, read 38,188,589 times
Reputation: 7552
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dallas Kitty View Post
I have Malwarebytes, MSE and AVG.
Never run two antivirus programs at the same time. Ditch either MSE or AVG. Malwarebytes is safe since it only scans when you launch it.

AVG comes with lots of components that do all kinds of things, claiming to enhance security, which often just wind up tripping over themselves and breaking your computer.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-19-2013, 05:26 PM
 
6,441 posts, read 4,866,797 times
Reputation: 13563
Quote:
Originally Posted by EscapeCalifornia View Post
Never run two antivirus programs at the same time. Ditch either MSE or AVG. Malwarebytes is safe since it only scans when you launch it.

AVG comes with lots of components that do all kinds of things, claiming to enhance security, which often just wind up tripping over themselves and breaking your computer.
I thought I still had AVG since the icon is on my desktop. But just took a look in add-ons and it's not there. Thanks for the reminder.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > Administration Zone > About the Forum
Similar Threads

All times are GMT -6.

© 2005-2021, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Contact Us - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37 - Top