U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > Administration Zone > About the Forum
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-14-2010, 10:17 AM

9,743 posts, read 28,589,406 times

Advertisements

I post a lot of photos on city data. From time to time people who find them here email or DM me requesting permission to use a photo I took on their website. Recently I have come across several website that are using photos I posted here but never contacted me. In some cases they do provide credit for the photo, but only list the credit as "Photo from City-data.com".

I'm not a professional photographer, and I clearly don't know much about copyrights, but I'm workind who owns the photos that I post here. Do I give up my right to control the use of "my photos" once I post them here. Do they become the property of City-data?

Again, I'm not all worked up over this. I'm just curious.

Thanks for you thoughts!
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-14-2010, 10:35 AM
Bo Bo won $500 in our forum's Most Engaging Poster Contest - Tenth Edition (Apr-May 2014). 

Over $104,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum and additional contests are planned

17,102 posts, read 35,564,241 times
I found this quote from Administrator about blog posts. Most likely, the site takes the same approach to photos posted here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Administrator View Post