Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > World Forums > Africa
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-16-2018, 01:14 PM

4,357 posts, read 4,190,870 times

Advertisements

So I'm African American but I admit I'm fairly new to learning about African Geography and don't know much about individual African cities. I keep hearing about how Africa is becoming more advanced. I'm wondering if there's any city or cities that are growing and could compete with some of the newer mega cities in Asia such as Dubai, Singapore, Hong Kong and Doha. I've heard Djibouti wants to be the Dubai of Africa, I wonder if that's a realistic goal or not.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-16-2018, 01:33 PM

10,932 posts, read 11,656,829 times
Nope and not realistic, either.

Old 05-16-2018, 09:04 PM

6,441 posts, read 4,002,605 times
The closest African Megacities to being anything Asia like are

Nicer and newer parts of Cairo.
Parts of Johannesburg and Sandton (J-burg-Pretoria is over 10 million).
Lagos- Eko Atlantic is very Asian like project but hasn't been completed.
Kinshasa- probably the poorest of the 4 megacities and isn't likely to have any Asian like structures in it. only one of the 4 cities that doesn't have a 100 billion dollar economy.

Old 05-17-2018, 03:02 AM

5,869 posts, read 4,161,211 times
I don't know where you heard that about Djibouti. Djibouti is a joke. It has almost no hotels to speak of. It is horribly expensive. Unemployment rate is 50%, the population is rising faster than the economy. Street traffic is sleepy at the busiest.