Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Alaska
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-28-2007, 02:07 PM

6 posts, read 15,617 times

Advertisements

Hello friends, I'm a hair stylist,and my husband is a airplane mechanic. Would we fit in Ketchikan? I would like to open my own hair salon, is there a need for that in Ket.? Any insight you have on this matter would be helpful. Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-28-2007, 03:35 PM

8 posts, read 31,168 times
Well, from what I've read about Ketchikan, it's a very small city. If I recall correctly, it's also the rainiest city in North America, so moving from Arizona may be a bit of a culture shock. I'm sure your husband could find work with airplanes, but that can be said about just anywhere in Alaska. I'm not too sure about the hair salon, though.

Old 07-28-2007, 10:32 PM

1,122 posts, read 4,499,095 times
Default one way to find out

One way to find out for sure, go visit. If your husband can find a position advertised with a company that is serious about wanting a good A&P mechanic for permanent year round work, there's a good chance he can talk them into a site visit/interview so you can see for yourselves if it looks like a place you could live. Keep in mind that it might be cheaper and easier to take the ferry from WA state than it is to fly, if not exactly faster.