Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > Albany area
 [Register]
Albany area Albany - Schenectady - Troy - Saratoga Springs metro area
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 06-30-2010, 10:26 PM

3 posts, read 30,590 times

Advertisements

Hi, i'm a young professional who will be moving to Albany area after this summer to work in Nisyakuna. I am looking for a safe neighborhood to live, within 30 miles from work. I've heard some crazy things about gang activities near albany area. I know not all of albany is dangerous but i need some help pointing it out where's safe to live. it would also be helpful if you can point to me what areas to avoid.

also, what's the average cost for a one bedroom?

and what kind of car is good for the snow? I heard it snows a lot. should i look for a place with a garage?

thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-01-2010, 02:07 PM

93,290 posts, read 123,898,066 times
Gangs are probably in the bigger cities, but I don't know if it is something that is widespread throughout the metro.

With that said, you might like the Upper Union Area of Schenectady. It's is close to Niskayuna and it seems to be a popular neighborhood:
YouTube - Upper Union St- Albany Schenectady Video Production NY New York

Upper Union Street Business Improvement District|Upper Union Street Business Improvement District

This might help you as well: MapsKrieg - Albany, NY - Apartments & Housing For Rent