U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > Albany area
 [Register]
Albany area Albany - Schenectady - Troy - Saratoga Springs metro area
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 05-31-2013, 06:54 PM

26 posts, read 42,611 times

Advertisements

Hi
We will be moving upstate with our 1 year old. I'm a physician and we are looking for a safe, diverse if possible, family friendly area. Schools are important but not the only factor since my son is so young and we are not sure where we will be living when he is school age- we may move back to the DC metro area or stay upstate indefinitely. We will, therefore, rent for 2-3 years to feel out the area. Budget isn't really an issue considering our current rent is outrageously high but the norm for this area. I've heard about Saratoga springs, Ballston spa, Niskayuna and Shenendehowa. Is there any other place we should consider? Is there one location that stands out from the rest? I'd prefer to rent a 3-5 bedroom single family house with a garage and a backyard for pets. I'd prefer no more than a 45min- 1 hour commute to Amsterdam. Husband will work remotely until he finds a job. We will be coming up for a visit soon.
Thanks!

Last edited by upward_bound; 05-31-2013 at 07:10 PM..
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-31-2013, 07:38 PM

69,671 posts, read 96,502,564 times