U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > Albany area
 [Register]
Albany area Albany - Schenectady - Troy - Saratoga Springs metro area
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 12-28-2013, 08:20 PM

2 posts, read 2,520 times

Advertisements

Hello,

I'm hoping to move to the Albany/Troy area in late 2014. As a new grad nurse, my options of where to live are very limited. I've been pointed to Albany and the Finger Lakes region as possible places I could find employment.

I keep reading of complaints of taxes. I know they're murder on LI (my aunt is paying $13,000 for an old, unimpressive 4 bedroom). So how bad are they in Albany? If I bought a $150,000-$200,000 house, what would I be paying? What are the city and state income taxes as well?

Thanks everyone.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 12-28-2013, 09:18 PM

70,623 posts, read 97,572,657 times
I don't believe that there are city taxes and as a heads up, I believe that the median home price/value in the area is about $208,000, but the area has the second average annual income in Upstate behind only Ithaca, if I'm not mistaken.

BTW- Where in the Finger Lakes would you be able to consider?

Old 12-29-2013, 06:15 AM

7,841 posts, read 8,274,416 times