U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > Albany area
 [Register]
Albany area Albany - Schenectady - Troy - Saratoga Springs metro area
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 10-14-2008, 07:57 PM

1 posts, read 1,452 times

Advertisements

hey peoples-

i am looking to transfer to SUNY Albany and also have a baby on the way! As a single woman of color, I am looking for a reasonably priced 1 bedroom apartment, would love to have utilities included, but am no opposed to paying. I also need to be relatively close to campus, and any type of community that is supportive of single mothers. I am also an artist, and though I will miss the amenities of so many galleries and museums here in nyc, I am willing to trade that to just get down to finishing up my degree and being a great mom. I live in Brooklyn now, in Bed-Stuy and it is definitely on the super speed track of redevelopment, but there is still a certain kinda of grittiness to it, if folks know what I mean. I guess there is a distinct history, and it is sad that people are being kicked out of their homes to move wealthier folks in. Nuff said on that...but pretty much I am looking for a safe community. A place where many different generations and folks live together. I read some posts on Troy, but am just super unfamiliar to all of it. If anyone can share some knowledge, that would be great! I am going to visit the campus in a few weeks, so possibly then I will be able to do some of my own on the ground research...i just need some leads! Thanks so much!!!!
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-15-2008, 08:40 PM