U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New Mexico > Albuquerque
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-10-2011, 03:21 PM

662 posts, read 1,422,609 times

Advertisements

I'm new to ABQ, and to xeriscaping. Our yard is a mixture of lawn and gravel. In the gravel area there are many weeds popping through. When I bought the house in September, I paid a landscaper to weed and feed my lawn, mow, trim bushes and to get all the weeds out of the gravel. Within two weeks they were back. I have made my kids weed again, but this seems crazy. There are now thousands and to do it by hand would be very daunting.

Any suggestions? Won't we be getting a freeze soon, which will kill them? What should I do in the spring to prevent this? It is very unsightly.

Thank you!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-10-2011, 03:39 PM
N8!

2,408 posts, read 5,218,740 times
I spray RoundUp liberally. Works bueno.

Old 11-10-2011, 04:30 PM

5,548 posts, read 15,831,816 times
Make very very sure that the irrigation water from the lawn part is not
getting into the gravel. Better yet, remove the lawn part and go with
all gravel and NO irrigation.

Coming from Ohio and not having to mow the lawn is wonderful.
I see those neighbors getting out their lawn mowers and actually
doing that chore on porpose drives me nuts.

Also note that old rock beds tend to be rich with soil and grow weed
quite nicely. Sifting some of that soil out and returning to a 3-5"
depth of rocks makes things better.

Old 11-10-2011, 04:42 PM

26,530 posts, read 50,648,884 times