U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Health and Wellness > Allergies
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 05-23-2008, 01:06 PM

655 posts, read 810,689 times

Advertisements

I'm in a real horrible situation here. I am an artist who works with stone and wood. I carved huge sculptures and do fairly well with it. Well, as fate would have it, I'm super allergic to my materials used. This is because when I sculpt, enormous amounts of very fine dust is formed. Dust so fine, it floats in the air like baby powder as it is about the same consistency. I use a high quality dust mask, but I still get the dust all over me and eventually, no matter how hard I try, I breathe some in.

What usually happens is I work for a few days and then I get hit with the most horrible allergy attack ever. So bad I can't get out of bed for 2 days. When I feel the attack coming on, I take clarinex and benedryle. I have to take both at the same time, as this is the only way to reduce the symptoms. Takes about 24 hours to slow the attack down. Clarinex by itself does not stop my attacks.