Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > World Forums > Americas
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 04-24-2016, 02:47 PM

5,981 posts, read 13,121,497 times

Advertisements

Como estai!?

I know this is a long way off. But I am making a commitment, based around work schedule and budget to travel to Chile for 3 weeks in August, 2017. (I am a community college professor and August is the only month where I can travel without sacrificing earnings/career). I already have a lot going on this summer.

I grew up in the midwest US, where winter averages only go to about 0-1 degrees Celsius during the day and got to about 7 degrees below Celsius (and have even gone camping (not fun) in those temperatures). So, when I say I want to really see Patagonia and Torres Del Paine even if it August, please understand that I am not a "wimp" with a little cold weather.

I am attracted to Chile: (para la naturaleza esta muy hermosa y diverso. Y el pais esta muy seguro que otro pais en sud america con carretera bueno).

(pardon the mixing of languages, I am just practicing)

Here it is:

Day 1: Take a "redeye" flight and arrive in Santiago in morning (I can sleep ok on planes if comfortable enough and have pillow), check into hostel, do a walking tour of central area including plaza de armas (cathedral, National history museum, etc.), Plaza de la Constitucion, through universidad area and Cerro Lucia, Mercado Central. Evening: eat, check out nightlife, etc. (although I will be tired).