U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Entertainment and Arts > Architecture Forum
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 04-07-2011, 10:01 AM

4 posts, read 11,052 times

Advertisements

I am interested in shifting my work focus to designing and building custom single family modern homes in rural or small town areas- any part of the country. Currently I am a licensed Architect in NYC, working on high end residences (ground up and interior architecture) and would love to break into the single family custom home market and explore more creative use of space, site, and materials. Does anyone have any recommendations on how to find potential clients who need this service?
Thank you.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-16-2011, 05:02 PM

5 posts, read 7,694 times
Looks like you're off to a start. Do you have any of your worked featured online? Start a blog about your type of architecture or contribute to someone else's. Eventually people will start coming to you as the expert. We are always looking at home designers, especially modern homes, but many architects in this genre are too pricey and personally turns me off. Good luck.

Old 05-16-2011, 05:25 PM

15,739 posts, read 11,492,212 times
Good luck.
Personally, I'd prefer that the building industry move toward autonomous houses / buildings. But that's not going to happen.

Old 05-25-2011, 01:09 PM

46 posts, read 109,411 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbayma View Post