U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Happy Mother`s Day to all Moms!
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Georgia > Atlanta
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-10-2010, 05:24 PM

57 posts, read 220,429 times

Advertisements

I am headed back to school at 29 yrs old after a long hiatus. I am now an independent student with about 24? college credits to my name (some from a school in MD and some from GA State). In order to be successful, I have detemined that I need to attend community college for another semester or two and then apply to a 4 yr. school up North.

I liked GSU, and had great grades there, but due to reasons I do not wish to elaborate on, it'd be in my best interest not to return there.

I'm really in need and shooting for a full transfer scholarship so I need to get good grades, and attend a school that has a respectable reputation. What do you think of GPC? Even though Atlanta Metropolitan College would be an easier commute, I know that would really be a bad move.

Yes, I know you could shine at a school that's easy, but a 4.0 from Easy CC would probably hold less weight than a 4.0 at Well-Respected CC - right? And yes, unfortunately, the North seems to think that the South is backwards and uneducated, so they'd probably assume the schools to be inferior.

I'm originally from the DC area, so I'm wondering if I should return home and go to NOVA, PGCC, or Montgomery. I'd be broke and living scared for a year or two, but it seems worth the sacrifice. They seem better than GPC, but I could be wrong. That is where your knowledge and advice comes in.