Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Georgia > Atlanta
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 01-21-2018, 10:56 AM

32 posts, read 36,866 times

Advertisements

My mother and i are looking to move to the Atlanta Area . We've never really been to Atlanta before and we know only alittle about it. We are desperate to find out everything about the surrounding areas/ counties. We are from NYC and are tired of the transportation, overcrowded environment and urban atmosphere. We would like suburban/ country within the surrounding areas of Atlanta.

My mother is in healthcare and I am a college student planning to transfer to one of GA's universities. We are looking to own a home upon moving, and our price range is around $200,000. Since its just my mother and i we would only need 3 bedrooms. A townhouse or single family with backyard space would be fine. We don't need an area with good schools because we have no children. We just want a clean, decent and safe neighborhood. We're leaning more towards Gwinnet county. Racial diversity would also be nice!

In Gwinnet county we were looking at Lawrenceville, Dacula, Snellville, Loganville. In Cobb county we were looking in Marietta, Smryna. In Dekalb county we were looking in Lithonia. I'll ask my questions about these places and Atlanta living below.

1. What are the best places to live in Gwinnet and Dekalb county within 45-55 min out of central Atlanta? (low crime, decent people)

2. What are the worst places to live in Gwinnet and Dekalb county? (high crime, poverty)