Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Georgia > Atlanta
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-10-2009, 04:24 PM

2 posts, read 4,003 times

Advertisements

I am a newly single self-employed male who is considering a move to Atlanta. I work in the entertainment industry and travel out of town about 2/3 of the year, but am looking for a better city as a home base. I am making a trip down next month to check out some neighborhoods and need some advice on which places to spend time looking in.
My perfect neighborhood is someplace:

-I can walk to everything I need.
Gym, grocery store, restaurants, bars, theater, park etc. I work out of my house when in town and would love to forget about the car.

-a large selection of bars and restaurants. Looking for authentic stuff not
chain crap.

-liberal, progressive, diverse and inclusive of all types of people

-has some character, not just another urban retail "concept" from an out of town developer

-close access to airport train service

-small house or condo 3br with an outdoor space up to $450k

-safe, even late at night

-oh, and plenty of single professional women.

thanks in advance!

Mark
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-10-2009, 04:28 PM

21,870 posts, read 15,104,359 times
You sound like you would be a good fit for Midtown.

Check out these websites:

Midtown Alliance
Midtown Mile Atlanta . An Urban Retail Experience (http://www.midtownmile.org/ - broken link)
Piedmont Park Conservancy is our version of Central Park. It was designed by the same landscape architect too.