U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Georgia > Atlanta
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 01-18-2010, 08:07 PM

3 posts, read 5,292 times

Advertisements

Hi
I am a single/young professional moving to ATL for 6-9 months for work. after much research i like the Midtown area.

My work is in Peachtree city. I know that is 30 miles or so away. How is the traffic in that direction?

I am from Los Angeles/New York... i don't think the Peachtree city would be a good fit for me...

As long as the drive is under 1 hour i will not mind the drive.

Any advice? Any estimates on how long it would take to get there?
I would assume i am i going against traffic?

Help plz
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-18-2010, 08:17 PM

1,320 posts, read 3,881,566 times
Yikes! I don't envy you that drive, although you're probably right about Midtown being a better fit than Peachtree City. I'm not sure how much reverse commute you'll benefit from as long as you're still inside the perimeter. Once you get outside I-285 the traffic should move along, I would think. It'll be interesting to see if you can find anyone who actually makes that commute and has first-hand experience.

Good luck!

Old 01-18-2010, 08:19 PM

2,404 posts, read 3,836,468 times
I agree, you might find Peachtree City a little boring. Midtown is on the north side of downtown, so you will be with traffic for a few miles before you will be going against traffic. Since the traffic areas will be at the start of your commute you probably won't have it that bad.